with City of Halifax in Nova Scotia, and for the Construction thereof without Intermission, and the Completion thereof with all practicable Speed.

XI .- Admission of other Colonies.

Power to admit Newfoundland, &c. into the Union:

145. It shall be lawful for the Queen, by and with the Advice of Her Majesty's Most Honourable Privy Council, on Addresses from the Houses of the Parliament of Canada, and from the Houses of the respective Legislatures of the Colonies or Provinces of Newfoundland, Prince Edward Island, and British Columbia, to admit those Colonies or Provinces, or any of them into the Union, and on Address from the Houses of the Parliament of Canada to admit Rupert's Land and the Northwestern Territory, or either of them, into the Union, ou such Terms and Conditions in each Case as are in the Addresses expressed and as the Queen thipse fet to in each Case as are in the Addresses expressed and as the Queen thinks fit to approve, subject to the Provisions of this Act; and the Provisions of any Order in Council in that Behalf shall have effect as if they had been enacted by the Parliament of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland.

As to Represen-tation of Newfoundland and

i. Prescott.

2. Glengarry.

147. In Case of the Admission of Newfoundland and Prince Edward Island, or either of them, each shall be entitled to a Representation in the Senate of Canada of Four Members, and (notwithstanding anything in this Act) in case of the Admission foundland and Prince Edward of Newfoundland the normal Number of Senators shall be Seventy-six and their Island in Senate, maximum Number shall be Eighty-two; but Prince Edward Island when admitted shall be deemed to be comprised in the third of the Three Divisions into which Canada is, in relation to the Constitution of the Senate, divided by this Act, and accordingly, after the Admission of Prince Edward Island, whether Newfoundland is admitted or not, the Representation of Nova Scotia and New Brunswick in the Senate shall, as Vacancies occur, be reduced from Twelve to Ten Members respectively, and the Representation of each of those Provinces shall not be increased at any Time beyond Ten, except under the Provisions of this Act for the Appointment of Three or Six additional Senators under the Direction of the Queen.

SCHEDULES.

THE FIRST SCHEDULE.

Electoral Districts of Ontario.

EXISTING ELECTORAL DIVISIONS. COUNTIES. Russell. 6. Carleton.

RIDINGS OF COUNTIES. the Township of South } 25. South Riding Wentworth. 26. East Riding of Elgin. 10. North Riding of Lanark.
11. South Riding of Lanark. Monaghan). 27. West Riding of Elgin.
28. North Riding of Waterloo.
29. South Riding of Waterloo. North Riding of Leeds and North Riding of Grenville. 17. East Riding of Durham. 18. West Riding of Durham. 12. 19. North Riding of Ontario. South Riding of Leeds. 13. South Riding of Grenville. South Riding of Ontario. 14. 20. 21. East Riding of York. East Riding of Northumber-15. 22. West Riding of York. land. 16. West Riding of Northumber-23. North Riding of York. 24. North Riding Wentworth.

7. Prince Edward. 8. Halton.

9. Essex.

30. North Riding of Brant. 31. South Riding of Brant. 32. North Riding of Oxford. 33. South Riding of Oxford. 34. East Riding of Middlesex.

Township of Niagara there-

land (excepting therefrom CITIES, PARTS OF CITIES AND TOWNS.

West Toronto. East Toronto 35. 36. Hamilton. 38. Ottawa. 39. Kingston.

40. London.
41. Town of Brockville, with the Township of Elizabethtown thereto attached. 42. Town of Niagara, with the

Town of Cornwall, with the Township of Cornwall thereto attached.

to attached.

NEW ELECTORAL DIVISIONS.

44. The Provisional Judicial District of Algoma.
The County of Bruce, divided into Two Ridings, to be called respectively the North and South

Stormont.

Dundas.

Ridings

45. The North Riding of Bruce to consist of the Townships of Bury, Lindsay, Eastnor, Albemarle, Amable, Arran, Bruce, Elderslie, and Saugeen, and the Village of Southampton.
46. The South Riding of Bruce to consist of the Townships of Kincardine (including the Village of Kincardine), Greenock, Braut, Huron, Kinloss, Culross, and Carrick.
The County of Huron, divided into Two Ridings, to be called respectively the North and South

Ridings
47. The North Riding to consist of the Townships of Ashfield, Wawanosh, Turnberry, Howick,
Morris, Grey, Colborne, Hullett, including the Village of Clinton, and McKillop.

48. The South Riding to consist of the Town of Goderich and the Townships of Goderich,
Tuckersmith, Stanley, Hay, Usborne, and Stephen.

The County of Middlessex, divided into Three Ridings, to be called respectively the North, West,

and East Ridings :

49. The North Riding to consist of the Townships of McGillivray and Biddulph (taken from the County of Huron), and Williams East, Williams West, Adelaide, and Lobo.

50. The West Riding to consist of the Townships of Delaware, Carradoc, Metcalfe, Mosa and Ekfrid, and the Village of Strathroy.

[The East Riding to consist of the Townships now embraced therein, and be bounded as it is at

present.]